The David Hilton Memorial Award

Martin Harman receving the award from Henry Bryant in 2024

David Hilton was a well respected East Kent fruit grower, A tireless supporter of the UK fruit industry and of the East Kent Fruit Society. He gave a large amount of time and energy back to the industry and was one of Kent fruit growing’s unsung heroes.

In his memory, The East Kent Fruit Society decided to create an award for services to the fruit industry in Kent and beyond. The intended recipients are those who have given something something back to the industry, who have not been and are unlikely to be recognised in other ways.

Recipients are typically approaching the end of a career or stepping down from a defining role. Previous recipients have been growers, managers, advisors, research scientists, technologists, lecturers and others from key industry roles.

It is not aimed at recognising commercial or business success as Society competitions reflect this.


2023   Martin Harman

2022   Neil Franklin

2021   Brian and Norma Tompsett

2020    Jerry Cross

2019    Tim Biddlecombe

2018    Sandys Dawes

2017    Andrew Tinsley

2016    Dr Martin Luton

2015    Harry Wooldridge

2014    Dr Angela Berrie

2013    Richard Wybrow

2012    John Breach

2011    John Guest

2010    David Johnson

2009    Ian and Robert Mitchell

2008    Don Vaughan

2007    Adrian Barlow

2006    Robert Oliver

2005    Mike Terry

2004    Peter Vinson

2003    Patrick Barker

2002    Mike Barnett

2001    Hugh Lowe

2000    Michael Alley

1999    Basil Neame

1998    Les Cameron

1997    Jim Kennedy

1996    Roger Worraker

1995    David McEwen

1994     Peter Wheldon

1993    Eric Gunn

1992    John Turnbull

1991    Bob Bray

1990    David Burd

1989    Hugh Ermen